My First KubeCon Experience !

My First KubeCon Experience !

⚡️I had heard about KubeCon from various folks out there on YouTube, and it seemed something that I really wanted to be part of. Since I had already known about CNCF and Linux Foundation, I wanted to be part of / interact with the community but most importantly contribute to open source. Although I was pretty new to the Cloud-Native space I thought KubeCon would be an amazing place to start off my journey from networking w/ people to learning 🥳.

P.S this is also my first blog 👋

🌊KubeCon 2022 Invitation / Scholarship

🍊 So I had decided to apply for the Dan Kohn Student scholarship program in the midst of April, in-order to attend KubeCon virtually. 🍊 The email that I received after a few days was the highlight of the year. I was very ecstatic 🙌.

Screenshot 2022-05-31 054020.png registration email.png

🌊What Is KubeCon

🍊 In its brief ,

  • KubeCon is an event hosted by the the CNCF ( Cloud Native Computing Foundation ) Organization.
  • It is one of the largest conferences in the world, bringing together users, developers, and corporations who have/want to adopt the Cloud Native standard for running apps and use Kubernetes in their organization to discuss new ideas, learn more about it, network, and have fun.
  • In the period of five days, there are numerous wonderful speeches, activities, gatherings, parties, and competitions, all of which might make a newcomer fall in love with this amazing community.

Well, this year's KubeCon was held at Valencia, Spain 🍊 & Virtually. There were events in person that were broadcasted virtually and even so had virtual events for the virtual attendees specifically.

🌊My Experience

  • KubeCon'22 was held from 16th to 20th of May, which was clashing with my semester exams. But that didn't obviously stop me from attending KubeCon🤩.

  • First event that I attended, was the DoK Day. It definitely was one of the most anticipated events I was looking forward to. here's why😂

  • Dok Day's host had unmatched level of energy at all times, for which I loved the event. You can watch the replay of the event here.

Highlight of the DoK event --> Who would've thought, virtual concerts would be alongside tech events 🥂

Screenshot 2022-05-31 054025.png

Screenshot 2022-05-31 054030.png

  • I had attended talks ranging from Aqua Security's products for Kubernetes & Container security, RedHat's brief overview on how to get started with DevOps, to Civo's demonstration on how to run apps on a civo cloud native service (kubernetes platform) and so much more...
  • Additionally, I had made full use of this opportunity to scratch the surface of Cloud-Native space. throughout the sessions / events I had discovered numerous no. of technologies and its use cases.
  • This undoubtedly helped me attain a broad understanding as to where these technologies / applications are used in the real world kind of scenarios, so that in the future I can deep dive into tech of my interest 🌠.
  • For every session there was always a practical side to it. As in every field practical understanding is important.

🌊The Slack Channels

I'm making a separate section on this , because I thought this was definitely one of the best parts about KubeCon'22 🔥.

The slack channels were always active, and welcoming to newcomers entering the community 🤗.

I had asked a lot of doubts and queries for which none of them went un-answered, the community members were very supportive and helpful.

Networking was the best part about the CNCF slack channels. I've had conversations with multitude of people connecting with them via email, twitter and linkedIn. Alongside that talking to people by slack's "huddle" feature which was very engaging! .

For the events I has signed up, all of them had slack channels, where they would regularly update schedule of sessions to attend. As well as notifying about amazing giveaways ! & and special offers on products and certification. Not only that, but the admins of the channels actively helped with technical issues.

🌊Take Away From KubeCon'22

  • Networked with amazing people 💥!
  • Gathered a lot of insight as to how to get started as a DevOps engineer / get into DevOps 💫
  • Various technologies used in the Cloud Native feature space.
  • Most importantly confidence boost to learn, and increased level of interest in the field 🌟.

KubeCon was only the start. I have a long & exciting journey ahead of me for which I cannot wait for.
Overall I 💯 enjoyed it, I'd say you should take part in a KubeCon too. I also hope to take part in the next KubeCon in person 🤞.

  • If you did attend kubecon virtually this year, the virtual platform of which kubecon was held on will still be available for a few more weeks.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Aryan Deshpande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!